– SAT is a standardized test widely used for college admission in the US. Therefore, SAT 1 and SAT 2 exam fees are one of the great concerns to many parents and international students as well.

Related posts:

SAT 1 and SAT 2 exam fees

SAT examination fees consist of many different products such as SAT registration fee, SAT with essay fee, SAT language test fee with listening… SAT is divided into SAT 1 and SAT 2, so there are many additional fees.

SAT 1 (General Test) SAT 2 (Subject Test)
  • SAT: $52 + Non-U.S. Regional Fee (see table below)
  • SAT with essay: $68 + Non-U.S. Regional Fee (see table below)
  • Registration fee: 26$
  • Each SAT Subject Test: 26$/ additional per test
  • Language Tests with Listening: 22$/ additional per test
Additional Fees by Region
Region Countries in Region Fee
Africa (Sub-Saharan)

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Republic of (Brazzaville), Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia , French Southern Territories, Gabon, Gambia, The, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Reunion, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Bouvet Island, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Guiana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French Part), Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten (Dutch Part), South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, British

East Asia/Pacific

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, People’s Republic of, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Korea, North (DPR), Korea, South (ROK), Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Macao, Malaysia, Marshall Islands*, Micronesia Federated States of*, Mongolia, Myanmar (Burma), Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, Palau*, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Pitcairn, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna

Europe and Eurasia

Albania, Åaland Islands, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Guernsey, Holy See (Vatican City State), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Republic of Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, The Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Wales

Middle East/North Africa

Algeria, Bahrain, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, State of Palestine, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Western Sahara, Yemen

South and Central Asia

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, British Indian Ocean Territory, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan


For more: Difference between SAT and SSAT

Additional fees 

Item More Information Fee
Register by phone

Available only if you’ve registered previously.

Test center fee Some test centers require an additional fee. $24
Change fee

For changing your test center or test date or changing between the SAT and SAT Subject Tests or vice versa. Does not apply to changing between the SAT and the SAT with Essay, but you pay the difference between the tests if adding the essay.

Waitlist fee

Charged only if you’re admitted to the test center on test day.


For more: Where to take SAT examination?

Payment methods

Candidates can pay SAT 1 and SAT 2 exam fees through the following methods:

  • Credit card: American Express, Discover, Visa, MasterCard, Diners Club, JCB.
  • PayPal: New PayPal users should set up their accounts before starting registration. Note that payment through PayPal is not available in Ghana. 
  • Check or money order: Make checks or money orders payable to “The College Board”. Checks must be drawn on US banks. Any checks drawn on non-US banks will be returned.
  • Other: Bank draft.

Things to know about refund policies

Before canceling registration and requesting a refund, make sure you want to cancel. Moreover changing the test date is money-saving instead of canceling the test date or registering the second time.

  • Registrations cannot be refunded later than five days before the test date.
  • Cancellation of registrations are partially refunded – you’ll get $10 back if you cancel five days before the test date.
  • Refunds are processed beginning six weeks after the test date.
  • Score reports you ordered with registration are refundable only if you are absent on test day.

For more: What is the format of SAT 1? – A place to share all the experiences of Test Prep exams (SSAT, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE…) for students preparing to study abroad. If you have any questions, please contact us directly via email or hotline for free advice.